Snapchat, one of the best social networking sites around, prides itself on its privacy features and granular control. It hides your friends list, offers you complete control over your account, and even allows you to reconnect with old Snapchat acquaintances.
With that in mind, we’ll look at one of the most talked-about subjects on social media today: unfriending someone. Today, we’ll see if the Snapchatter you unfriended has been notified of your wrongdoings.
Snapchat, like Facebook and Instagram, does not sell your information to the person you unfriended. They haven’t been notified, and they won’t realize what’s happened to them unless they start digging or try to send you a Snap.
What happens when you remove someone?
When you remove someone from Snapchat, they are removed from your friend list and no longer have access to your Snap Map location. You won’t be able to access your conversation history because you removed them from your friend list.
Even if you were having a live chat with them, all of their Snaps would be in the ‘Pending’ folder. They’d still be able to look you up, but they’d have access to only a portion of your profile.
Finally, just because you removed somebody from your buddy list doesn’t mean they removed you from theirs. They’d even have the chat history, along with a note explaining that they won’t be able to send you messages until you re-add them.
What is the difference between removing and blocking?
Removing a Snapchatter from your friends list is nice, but it’s nothing compared to the havoc blocking can cause.
Unfriending someone removes them from your friends list, emails, and Snap Map. Blocking, on the other hand, isolates you from the rest of the world. You won’t be able to look them up if you want to add them back in. They, too, would be unable to locate you on Snapchat and send you a Snap if they so desired. Of course, Snapchat will not notify you, but banning someone is a lot more noticeable than unfriending them.
How to add someone back after removing them
Adding a Snapchat user for the first time is the same as adding them again. If you know their username, all you have to do is look them up in the ‘Search’ bar at the top of the page.
When they show up under the ‘Add Friends’ banner, tap on the ‘Add’ button to add them back to Snapchat.
It’s worth noting that while Snapchat doesn’t inform users when you remove them from your buddy list, it does make a noise when you re-add them. This means they’ll be able to see that you’ve added them back, revealing that you had previously unfriended them.
Can you get the Snaps sent during your timeout?
As we previously explained, any Snaps sent to you during the timeout — even if you weren’t friends with the sender — would be shown as pending. Simply put, Snapchat is waiting for you to add them back to your list, and once you do, the two of you will be connected. Yes, you will be able to retrieve all of the Snaps they sent you during your downtime if and when you decide to add them back to your buddy list.
Will you get your text history back after you re-add them?
It’s safe to presume that if you can retrieve the Snaps they sent you during your “vacation,” you’ll be able to get your chat history back as well. Simply add them back as a friend, and your Snap relationship will be as good as new. All of your prior conversations would resurface, allowing you to resume where you left off.